About

Welcome to the Prince Edward Island Seafood and Agriculture Food Export Directory. This directory lists all major seafood and agricultural products available for export from Prince Edward Island companies.

This directory highlights over 30 Prince Edward Island products including seafood, fish, sea plants, agricultural products and valued-added products. Each profile showcases the product with photos, information and harvesting seasons.

This directory highlights over 100 Prince Edward Island companies in the seafood and agriculture industries. Each company profile includes contact information, product listings, markets, brands, etc.

This directory can be used to search for information by product, company or market.

Where is PEI located?

Prince Edward Island (P.E.I.) is located off the eastern coast of Canada, nestled between the provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Quebec and Newfoundland and Labrador in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island's capital city, is roughly 1600 km (1000 miles) from Toronto, 1000 km (625 miles) from Montreal, 1100 km (650 miles) from Boston, and 1450 km (850 miles) from New York City.

Charlottetown's latitude of 46"14" N places the city as far north as the south of France, southern Hungary, the Mongolia-China border, and northern Oregon in the U.S.A. The longitude of 63"08" W places the Island as far west as Venezuela, Argentina and the island of St. Kitts in the Caribbean.

Prince Edward Island is in the Atlantic Time Zone, which is UTC-4 hours. When it is noon in Prince Edward Island, it is 8:00 a.m. in Vancouver, 10:00 a.m. in Chicago, 11:00 a.m. in Toronto, Montreal, Boston and New York, 4:00 p.m. in London, England and midnight in Perth, Australia (Tourism PEI).

Climate and Weather

The climate on Prince Edward Island is milder than the Canadian mainland because the warm waters of the Gulf of St. Lawrence surround it. The average yearly rainfall is 910.2 mm and the average yearly snowfall is 198.6 cm (Source: Environment Canada, 2010 data). The Island enjoys an average temperature of -7°C (19°F) in January, and 20°C (68°F) in July.

Summers are quite warm, but rarely humid. Daytime temperatures are usually in the 20°C (70°F) and can go as high as 32°C. (90°F). July and August are the warmest and driest months.

Spring is comfortable. Late May and June are alive with colour and temperatures range from 8 to 22°C. (46 to 71°F.). Lobster fishing is in full swing and farmers are planting and cultivating their crops.

Autumn is clear and bright. September afternoons can be quite warm with cool evenings. Temperatures range from 8 to 22°C. (46 to 71°F). The gently rolling landscape quickly assumes crimson colours as the harvest begins and continues until November.

Winters are cold with temperatures ranging between -3 and -16°C. (26 to 32°F). Snow arrives in November and can remain until April (Tourism PEI).